From The E-mail Bag

Dear Mr. Lessig, 
     My name is Roland Temme, owner of TMCO in Lincoln, NE, a manufacturing company that started in business because of Wendell Tallakson.  Now, I’m watching TV and there is some advice given to "google" in your name to see what might be said about you.  Well, for whatever reason, I’m not sure, but I decided to "google" Magnefax.  To my surprise, I find the blogs written by you about "Beating the Expansive".
     "WOW!" as Dennis would remark, this is incredible, amazing, and to read this on the first day of the New Year,–You made my year already.  What an interesting, well written story, and most importantly a tribute to a very special person.  It brought back to life for me the history of our company.  By the time I finished reading, I must tell you all of the wonderful memories came back to life.  To pay tribute to someone 13 years later–"WOW"! 
     Well, today our company has over 150 employees, and on the 1st Monday of the New Year, I promised to give a presentation to all our managers about "Relationships".  Your blogs tell the story!  Expansive Bob vs. Humble Dennis!  He would be delighted to think you thought he was the delivery man.  I can hear him laughing. 
     Wendell asked me if there was any way to drop all the pinch rollers at once.  I went to work and came up with the lever and cam system.  Dennis often told me how impressive and well this worked.  Dennis told lots of people about us and we got business from New York to Los Angeles and Canada to Texas.  That’s the way Dennis was,–he was always wanting to be of help above and beyond expectation.  Dennis gave me a Purchase Order of such volume that allowed me to buy the first really big expense CNC machine tool. 
     We did business (thanks to Dennis or Wendell) with Capitol Records who produced the real expensive type of recording equipment you described.  We made the capstan rollers for 1/2" and 1" wide tape.  Dennis brought in a "loop bin" and we developed it for the cassette machine.  If you still have an old cassette machine and want to sell it, I would be interested to put one in our company museum.  I made a donation to Back to the Bible and have an early 1/4" reel machine.
     Well, the next time you are traveling through Lincoln, be sure to stop in.  I would love to meet you.  Thanks again for writing the blogs that touched my heart about Dennis and Magnefax.  Happy New Year too!  
                                                                                        Best Regards,  Roland Temme
Roland Temme
TMCO Inc.
507 J Street
Lincoln NE 68508
 
Phone 402-476-0013
Fax     402-742-2234

About AudioBookMan

Broadcast and Recording Engineer turned Audio Book Producer and Publisher. Mensa Member--smarter than the average bear.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment